Default Post Image


We are now collecting award nominations. New Urban Arts introduced annual awards in 2002 to recognize individuals and organizations who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to New Urban Arts. Board members, staff, artist mentors and students can nominate candidates, people who share extraordinary contributions of time, expertise, money, energy or support—often without solicitation—going beyond what is asked of them in support of New Urban Arts and its mission.

New Urban Arts has grouped the awards and candidates as follows:

1. Sandra Olson Award Individual Volunteers: board members, volunteers, consultants, etc.
2. Founders’ AwardOrganizations & Businesses: corporations, small businesses, foundations, community organizations
3. Carole Harman Award – Full-time staff, artist mentors, students, and/or alumni

Each year, New Urban Arts gives awards to one individual or organization in each category. Under special circumstances as determined by the review panel, more than one award in each category may be given.
Awards will be given at the Annual Campaign Event, April 15, 2016.

Award Nominations are due Friday February 19, 2016 via Google form.

How do I nominate a candidate for an award?
Please submit the following at the above link:
· Name and category (see above) for the candidate you are nominating;
· Your name;
· The reasons why you are nominating this candidate;
· Additional information that the review panel should know.

Nominations will be kept anonymous.

Who are past winners of the awards?
2002 – Peter Hocking, Jephry Floral Studio, Marly Louis, Echoing Green Foundation
2003 – Kathleen Connolly, Jason Yoon, Gasbarro’s Wines
2004 – Jesse Banks III, White Electric, Craftland
2005 – Michael Fournier, Kedrin Frias, Jennifer Rice, Cornish Associates
2006 – Priscilla Carrion, White Whale Web Services, Tamara Kaplan, Judy Vilmain
2007- John Tabor Jacobson, Mary Adewusi, Esther Chak, Simon Moore, Jack Richter
2008 – Sarah Meyer, Myrth York, Aneudy Alba, Andrew Oesch
2009 –  Deborah Obalil, Mathias Arling, Vilmain Inc., Erik Gould
2010 – Rosalia Velis, Angelo Manioudakis, Andy Cutler
2011 – CJ Jimenez, Jane Androski, Susan Smulyan, Jay Glasson, Virginia Branch
2012 – Sara Bergman, Emily Ustach, Site Specific, Emmy Bright, Noel Puello
2013 – Daniel Schliefer, Adrienne Adeyemi, John Risica & Family, Holly Ewald, Caitlin Cali
2014 -Derek Schusterbauer, Teal Butterworth, Julia Gualtieri, Austin O’Goffa, Providence Pizza Company
2015 – El Rancho Grande, Founders’ Award Recipient; Ashley Paniagua, Carole Harman Memorial Award Recipient; Mike Tanaka, Sandra Olsen Award Recipient